Saturday, May 1, 2010

Regulators close seven banks

WASHINGTON — Regulators on Friday shut down three banks in Puerto Rico, two in Missouri, and one each in Michigan and Washington.
The Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. took over Westernbank Puerto Rico; R-G Premier Bank of Puerto Rico; San Juan-based Eurobank; CF Bancorp, based in Port Huron, Mich.; Champion Bank, of Creve Coeur, Mo.; BC National Banks, of Butler, Mo.; and Frontier Bank, based in Everett, Wash.

Can You Feel the Optimism Shift in Builder Mentality?Tennessee Commerce Bancorp makes a profit, despite bad loans